Book Clubs

Book Clubs for Adults

commongrounds

Common Grounds Book Club is a monthly reading club that meets to read and discuss books dealing with a wide variety of social justice issue

Meetings

  • Common Grounds Book Club - ednesday, December 21st at 1pm we'll be discussing our favorites reads from 2022.  It BYOB - Bring Your Own Book!  We'll meet by Zoom.  Contact Laura at llove@kckpl.org for details on the Zoom link.  

nextchapter

The Next Chapter KC Book Group is co-sponsored by the Kansas City, Kansas Public Library and Next Chapter Kansas City, which is a program of Shepherd’s Center of Kansas City, KS. It uses both fiction and nonfiction titles to discuss transition topics for persons ages 50+ who have left or will soon be leaving their primary careers.

Meetings

  • Next Chapter Book Club - Monday, Dec 5 @ 5:30 Next Chapter Book Club discusses The Virtues of Aging by Jimmie Carter. See flier for details on registering and getting the zoom link.

Clueless is a book club focused on mysteries and thrillers. If you love suspense, clues, and detective work then this book club is for you! Currently, the book club meets via Zoom every 3rd Monday of the month at 12:30pm.

Meetings

  • Clueless: A Mystery Book Club - Monday, Dec 19th @ 12:30 PM, this month we will discuss Desolation Mountain by William Kent Krueger. This book club will be conducted via Zoom, please see Event Calendar for further information. New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another “punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction” (Booklist, starred review) as […]

The B&B book club focuses on fictional books featuring African American authors and protagonist. This is a great book club for anyone that considers themselves an avid reader and loves discussion time. Currently, the book club meets via Zoom every 4th Monday of the month at 6:30pm.

Meetings


For Goodness Sake: Inspirational Fiction Book Club is a monthly book club that focuses on inspiring stories of people who faced difficult situations and how they handled them. Currently, this book club meets via Zoom every 2nd Thursday of the month at 5:30pm.

Meetings

  • For Goodness Sake - Thursday, Dec 8th @ 5:30 PM, this month’s discussion will be over Jewel of the Nile by Tessa Afshar. This book club will be conducted via Zoom, please see Event Calendar for further information. Whispered secrets about her parents’ past take on new urgency for Chariline as she pays one last visit to the land […]

Do you love Nora Ephron Films? A weak spot for meet cutes and happily ever afters? Come read and discuss contemporary romances with us! This book club meets via Zoom every 4th Monday of the month at 7:00pm.

Meetings

  • Meet Cute: A Contemporary Romance Book Club - Monday, Dec 19th @ 7:00, this month’s discussion will be over The Holiday Swap by Maggie Knox. Register to have a copy placed on hold and to receive the Zoom link. A feel-good, holiday-themed romantic comedy about identical twins who switch lives in the days leading up to Christmas–perfect for fans of Christina Lauren’s In […]

Are you an adventurous reader? Do you enjoy talking about books? If you answered yes, then this is the book club for you. Each month we will read a book from a different genre. This book club meets via Zoom every 2nd Monday at 7:00pm.

Meetings

  • Paperback Book Club - Monday, Dec 12th @ 7:00, this month’s discussion will be over Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala. Register to get a copy of the month’s book to add to your collection and to receive the Zoom link. The first book in a new culinary cozy series full of sharp humor and delectable dishes-one that […]

The Healthy Living Book Club meets once a quarter and provides people a connection to a health-minded community, resources for healthy living skills, support, and tools to achieve a healthier lifestyle.

Meetings


Book Clubs for Kids

The Friendly Readers Book Club is a new kids-only book club aimed at readers in grades 1 to 5. This is a safe virtual space for readers to make friends, read together, and talk about the books we love.

Meetings


We will discuss a graphic novel together, accompanied by games and activities. We’ll be reading both older favorites and brand-new graphic novels, and you’ll get to help decide each month’s book selection!

Meetings

%d bloggers like this: